Creating and configuring Workspace Groups

This guide explains how to create and configure Workspace Groups in Adverity.

Introduction

In the Explore & Present module of Adverity, a Workspace Group is a collection of Workspaces. Workspace Groups are used to structure your Workspaces and separate Workspaces into different groups or categories. Adverity does not store data in a Workspace Group, instead Adverity stores data in each of the Workspaces contained in a Workspace Group.

Users assigned to a Workspace Group have access to all Workspaces within that Workspace Group.

Add sub-groups to Workspace Groups to create a hierarchical structure. Users assigned to a top-level Workspace Group have access to all Workspaces in the hierarchical structure.

You can move Workspaces between Workspace Groups. For more information, see Moving Workspaces between Workspace Groups below.

Creating Workspace Groups

To create a Workspace Group in Explore & Present, follow these steps:

  1. In the top left corner, click Select Workspace.

  2. Select the Workspace Group to which you want to add the new Workspace Group.

    • To create a Workspace Group, select the top-level Workspace Group (also known as the root Workspace Group).

    • To create a sub-group, select the Workspace Group to which the sub-group is added.

  1. Enter Workspace administration.

  1. In the left navigation panel, click Add Workspace Group.

  2. In Name, enter the name of Workspace Group.

  3. (Optional) In Week Start, select the day of the week that is used as the start of a week. This field is pre-populated with the day of the Week Start field when adding Workspaces to the Workspace Group.

  4. Click Create.

As a result, you have created the Workspace Group and can add Workspaces to it. For more information on adding Workspaces, see Creating a Workspace in Explore & Present.

Moving Workspaces between Workspace Groups

There is currently no user interface to move Workspaces between Workspace Groups. However, you can move Workspaces between groups by editing the URL in your browser.

To move a Workspace between Workspace Groups, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Explore element and select the Workspace to be moved.

  1. Enter Workspace administration.

  1. Find the Workspace ID of the Workspace to move. This ID is found at the end of the browser URL. For example, if the URL is https://company.adverity.com/administration/index/12345 then the Workspace ID is 12345.

  2. To find the ID of the Workspace Group to which the Workspace is to be moved, repeat steps 1 to 3 above.

  3. Enter the following URL into the URL field of your browser, replacing the placeholders with your company name including the IDs of the Workspace and Workspace Group.

    https://{YOUR-ADVERITY-INSTANCE}.adverity.com/companyAdmin/moveBusinessEntity?businessEntity={WORKSPACE_ID}&destination={WORKSPACE_GROUP_ID}

    For example, with the following company name and IDs, the placeholders are as follows:

    • {YOUR-ADVERITY-INSTANCE} - ACME

    • {WORKSPACE_ID} - 12345

    • {WORKSPACE_GROUP_ID} - 98765

    The URL to move the Workspace to the chosen Workspace Group is as follows:

    • https://ACME.adverity.com/companyAdmin/moveBusinessEntity?
      businessEntity=12345&destination=98765

As a result, the confirmation appears, displaying the name of the Workspace that has been moved, and the name of the Workspace Group to which it has been moved.

Deleting Workspace Groups

Workspace Groups that contain Workspaces cannot be deleted. Until you delete or move all Workspaces from Workspace Group, you cannot delete the Workspace Group.

To delete a Workspace Group, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Explore element and select the Workspace Group to be deleted.

  1. Enter Workspace administration.

  1. In the left navigation panel, click Delete Workspace Group {GROUP_NAME}. For example, if the name of the Workspace Group to be deleted is ACME, the option in the left navigation panel is Delete Workspace Group ACME.

  2. Click Delete.

  3. In the confirmation pop-up, click OK.

As a result, Adverity checks the Workspace Group for any Workspaces present and runs other validation checks. If all the validation checks pass, the Workspace Group is scheduled for deletion.