Adding and deleting Adverity users#
This guide explains how to add, delete and deactivate users in Adverity.
Introduction#
Follow this guide to create a user with access to everything in the Adverity platform except for Explore and Present, if you use these pages. To create a user with access to the Explore and Present pages as well, follow the steps in this guide, and then follow the steps in Adding and deleting users.
This video guide explains how to create a workspace and configure its settings, and how to add a new user and choose their permissions and settings.
Adding a user#
To add a user in Adverity, follow these steps:
Go to the Administration page.
In the secondary menu, click Users.
In the top right corner, click + Create user.
In Email address, enter the email address of the user.
In First Name and Last Name, enter the name of the user.
In Groups, select the groups to which the user will belong. Groups control a user’s permissions within Adverity. For more information on groups, see Changing user permissions in Adverity.
In Workspaces, select the workspaces to which the user is to be added.
Select Active to ensure that the user can access Adverity as soon as you complete this procedure.
In the Profile section, configure the following settings. The user can update these preferences in their profile page.
In Timezone, select the timezone in which the user works.
Select Subscribe to newsletter if you want the user to receive the Adverity newsletter.
Select Receive notification emails if you want the user to receive email notifications.
Select Send invitation email to send a welcome email to the user.
Click Save.
As a result, the user account is created.
Managing users from the list#
On the Users page, select the checkbox for one or more users to show additional actions above the table: Activate, Deactivate, Resend welcome email, Send temporary 2FA token, Export to CSV, and Delete. For more information about resending a welcome email, see Changing user settings and passwords. For more information about sending a temporary 2FA token, see Using two-factor authentication.
To edit or clone a single user, click Select an action
next to the user, then click Edit or Clone.
Deleting a user#
To delete a user from Adverity, follow these steps:
Go to the Administration page.
In the secondary menu, click Users.
Select the checkbox for the user or users you want to delete.
Click Delete above the table.
In the confirmation dialog, click Yes, I’m sure.
As a result, the user accounts are deleted along with all the items listed in the confirmation dialog.
Activating and deactivating users#
To prevent a user from accessing Adverity without deleting their account, you can deactivate their account. Deactivated users can be reactivated at any time.
To activate or deactivate one or more users, follow these steps:
Go to the Administration page.
In the secondary menu, click Users.
Select the checkbox for the user or users you want to activate or deactivate.
Click Activate or Deactivate above the table.
As a result, the selected user accounts are activated or deactivated.
Note
You can also activate or deactivate a single user by clicking
Select an action next to the user, clicking Edit,
and selecting or deselecting the Active checkbox. This is less
direct than using the Activate and Deactivate actions above
the table.
Editing a user#
To edit an existing user’s groups, workspaces, active status, or profile settings, follow these steps:
Go to the Administration page.
In the secondary menu, click Users.
Click
Select an action next to the user, then click Edit.
Change any of the settings described in Adding a user.
Click Save.
Cloning a user#
To create a new user with the same groups and workspaces as an existing user, follow these steps:
Go to the Administration page.
In the secondary menu, click Users.
Click
Select an action next to the user you want to clone, then click Clone.
Configure the new user’s details. For more information about the available fields, see Adding a user.
Click Save.